CakePHP Development on Mac OS X

11 06 2007

I’ve been setting up my Mac OS X development environment lately and I have got the following so far.

Server

For a server I am using the excellent MAMP package. Simple, straight forward and with the added bonus that you can switch between PHP4 and PHP5 at any time by selecting a radio box and restarting the server.

IDE

After reading a couple of posts on the CakePHP google groups I have decided to go with Eclipse as my IDE, which comes in a handy all in one package from Zend.

At work I use ZDE on a Win box. I am happy with ZDE – got to love its auto-complete feature – but I wanted to try something new and a little more flexible at home.

After less than an hour with Eclipse I am quite impressed. I have already created an “external tool” for Bake thanks to the short tutorial here, although I had to modify it for 1.2. Now I can bake with a short menu selection, directly in Eclipse rather than typing the whole thing into the terminal.

Another neat feature that I noticed is in the task view it automatically picks out comments with TODO in them and adds them to the list. Very handy for not forgetting what still needs a bit of attention.

Subversion

There is a nice binary of Subversion avaible from Martin Ott which makes SVN as simple as any package to install. Couple this with Subclipse and code versioning is sorted.

If you need to run a repository locally, the package from Martin Ott is capable of this by running from Terminal:
svnserve -d

Still to Come

I am still looking into a deployment process. I want something that will checkout my current SVN head, run the unit test, run the Selenium test and then FTP them to the remote server if all tests pass. I am looking into ANT and Capistrano, but am still undecided.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 09 2012
Shevalini Amin

Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and tested to see if
it can survive a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic
but I had to share it with someone!

17 02 2013
Granthana Sunder

Hi are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
Do you need any html coding expertise to make your own blog?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

