What I’ve learnt over the last two months

19 09 2007

The last two months have been pretty hectic for me. I work full-time and also foolishly decided to do a full work load at university this semester as well. I found that the two don’t go togethter so well. Funny that. So I have learn’t the hard way that time managment is a skill and is a very hard skill to master.

Here are just a couple of other random things I have found out over the last few weeks:

  • Outlook Addins are a pain to develop – in managed code at least. I hear using unmanaged Win32 API is actually easier
  • Multiply that by 10 when deploying your addin in a terminal services environment
  • Never “port” an Access “application” to .NET. It is best to start from scratch and do it properly
  • Organising a group university assignment is a project in and of itself
  • Dragging yourself out of bed at 5 in the morning to go for a run eventually gets easier
  • Puppies are the cutest thing, but also the most annoying thing. Although I have taught her to sit

The good news is that I am starting a rather large CakePHP project very soon, so expect to see some more regular Cake posts in the near future.

Oh and dont forget to check out the new CakePHP Podcast “The Show“. Put a voice to those Cake characters we all know. The podcast has a good vibe to it and is actually really informative, e.g. I didn’t know that Cake 1.2 can handle XML natively in models. Jeff does a good job of interviewing Nate and gwoo in the pilot about the new features in the upcoming 1.2 version.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 09 2007
filchiprogrammer

Oh, I have been waiting for cake 1.2 to be released in stable version, so that I could finally upgrade my cake app from 1.1 to 1.2 !

and hope to read more of your new posts about your cakephp project!

15 02 2010
John

Hi. How your project develops?

Leave a Reply

